Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Daffodil wins well; comes to Derby reckoning

By: Frankel   September 16 , 2017

Pesi Shroff trained Daffodil who is being targeted for the Pune Derby, did well in her lead up race by thwarting the bid of Unforgettable You to win the 1800 metres Eloise Plate, a race for horses rated 40 to 66 in a resolute manner in the races held on Saturday at Pune. The three-year-old was thus reeling off her third straight win and in the process enhanced her chances of emulating her dam Hills And Star who had won the Pune Derby many years ago.

Unforgettable You who had made a winning come back after being laid low with an injury, was strongly backed ahead of Daffodil to land the spoils. Jockey Neeraj Rawal did not hesitate to take Daffodil on a start to finish mission. His task was made more comfortable because nobody contested the lead and this gave scope for the filly to get the lead without having to fight for it and also a chance to sprint when the time arrived by conserving her energy. Jockey Yash Narredu kept Unforgettable You in the last position and refused to improve till approaching the final bend which ensured that the favourite had no chance of catching up. Horses can give weight but not distance and the young jockey is time and again making the same mistake. The finishing burst of Unforgettable You which brought her close to the eventual winner would have only made things worse for the jockey because his judgment of pace is something which is repeatedly brought to test and he has faltered on each occasion. Drogo occupied the third position of Simon Says who disappointed after two successive wins.

Trainer Narendra Lagad has been striking it rich during the Pune season. What is more impressive is the fact that the winners are repeating in style. Wild Fire had won over five furlongs last time out in record timing and as such, the filly looked outstanding to repeat the performance in the 1000 metres Enaksi Plate, a race for horses rated 40 to 600. Jockey Dashrath Singh had Wild Fire dictate the pace like before and the daughter of Verenar powered her way to victory with a commanding performance by a margin of over four lengths. Lincoln who was perceived as the only possible threat was sluggish at the start, rallied well but could only finish second best ahead of Safdar. Wild Fire should be backed till beaten.

Noshir Cama trained Admo stood out against a modest lot of three-year-olds by virtue of the several runs that he had to his credit. Admo bounced clear in the final furlong to win as he pleased despite drifting to the centre of the track. Sagittarius worked his way through the gaps to edge past Grand Accord to take the second position.

A big gamble was brought off on Karthik Ganapathy trained Star Comrade who came in for spirited betting in the 1400 metres Yoginder Singh Trophy (Div I), a race for horses rated 20 to 46. The presence of apprentice Jayakumar was no deterrent for the money flow. One does not remember if Jayakumar has indeed won a race in the past. Despite running into problems during the race, Star Comrade powered his way to victory, the horse obviously proving to be infinitely better class. Dibaba rallied late to take the second position ahead of Divine Magic. Lagad and Dashrath combined again to win on the fancied Arabian Storm who had no problem in winning the lower division of the race with a start to finish dash. Frosted battled on to take the second position ahead of Blavatsky. Godsent once again proved by his timid performance that he can never be relied upon to run two races alike.

Sandesh drove out favourite Excellent Gold to a facile win in the 1000 metres Alexandress Plate, a race for maiden three-year-olds. Excellent Gold was too good for the field and the tons of money that he attracted also indicated that he would be in serious business. Excellent Gold burst clear of the pack in the final furlong to record an impressive win ahead of Durham Lad and Hopeilicious who fought out for the runner-up berth.

The better riding prowess of Dashrath Singh enabled lesser fancied Name of the Game to pull it off in the 1200 metres Adam`s Treasure Plate (Div I), a race for horses in the lowest category. Though Highland Princess closed with a rush, apprentice jockey Zeeshan was unable to add punch to his finish which made the critical difference to the outcome of the race. Winds of Change was third. Kasbekar trained Make It Shine brought off a big upset in the lower division of the race taking command close home for a comfortable victory. Country`s Empress snatched the runner-up berth from Divine Spark by a whisker.


Make It Shine (Prasad up) winner of the Adam`s Treasure Plate (Div-II)

Wild Fire (Dashrath Singh up) winner of the Enaksi Plate

Daffodil (Neeraj Rawal up) winner of the Eloise Plate

Admo (P S Chouhan up) winner of the Mysore Race Club Trophy

Arabian Storm (Dashrath Singh up) winner of the Yogender Singh Trophy (Div-II)

Name Of The Game (Dashrath Singh up) winner of the Adam`s Treasure Plate (Div-I)

Excellent Gold (A Sandesh up) winner of the Alexandress Plate

Star Comrade (S Jaykumar up) winner of the Yogender Singh Trophy (Div-I)

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on March 27, 2019 - Kolkata Races

Live Results - Delhi (March 26, 2019)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture