Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Chase Your Dreams redeems with an easy win

By: Tippu Sultan   November 5 , 2017

Laxman Singh trained Chase Your Dreams who had blotted his copy back by below-par performances in the last two efforts after maintaining an unbeaten winning sequence, bounced back to record an emphatic win in the 1200 metres Kasu Brahmananda Reddy Memorial Plate, a race for horses rated 74 and above, the feature event of opening day`s races of the Hyderabad Winter Season held on Sunday. Barring a couple of questionable performances, form generally held good.

The punters were prepared to forgive the poor run of Chase Your Dreams in his last effort and reposed solid faith in his ability even though there were many with credentials. Jockey Akshay Kumar relaxed the favourite in about the fourth or fifth position till turning for home. The progeny of Excellent Art made smooth progress thereafter and assumed command in the final furlong to win the race easily from Time For Fun and Preciosa. King of Pop had a good forward run while finishing fourth. The disappointing performance came for Rahul`s Pet who after being in touch with the front-runners, weakened in the straight to eventually finish a dismal last. Mr Baahubali too failed to live up to expectations.

Leo D`Silva trained Carnival Express had enough form to be backed with conviction to end up as a firm favourite from a higher quote in the 1400 metres Deccan Star Plate, a race for horses rated up to 25. Apprentice jockey Md Ismail had Carnival Express challenging the front-running Island Queen in the straight and managed to get past the front-runner in the final 100 metres to win comfortably. Soon after overtaking the front-runner, the winner rolled over to the rails causing Island Queen to be checked. There was an objection by apprentice Naresh against Ismail and though the fate of the objection was written on the wall, the Stewards took a long time before overruling the same.

Satheesh trained Ice Crystal found favour with the majority though there was a noticeable drift towards Agusta Bombshell who was a habitual sluggish starter to win the 1400 metres Moment of Glory Plate (Div II), a race for horses rated 26 to 46. In the event, Ice Crystal who raced up with the pace had no problem skipping clear in the final furlong to record a comfortable win. Aston Doulton, Agusta Bombshell and Coruba who occupied the next three slots on the frame, finished in close order.

Another Satheesh ward Magical Skill had earlier won the race. Magical Skill looked formidable to win the 1200 metres Grand Entry Plate, a race for horses rated 26 to 46. Magical Skill did not disappoint expectations as he easily measured King David to record a comfortable win. Ikigai had too much ground to cover in the final furlong on the eventual winner and had to settle for the third place.

The 1400 metres M B Mangalorkar Memorial Plate, a race for horses rated 26 to 46, produced an exciting finish with the heavily supported favourite Dance Oh Dance running way below par. The race was won by Air Strike who was troublesome till being stalled in the gates. But in the race, the progeny of Burden of Proof showed more focus as he held off a strong challenge of City of Sails and Thundering. Rutilant too was involved in the cluster finish for minor placings.

Amazing Response for another favourite to play truant packing up too quickly for comfort in the final furlong of the 1000 metres Adolfito Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated 26 to 46. Up and coming jockey Prashanth Dhebe drove out Newport to a comfortable win. Sweet Pistol, Shakespeare and Good Strike disputed for the minor placings and finished in the order mentioned. Shakespeare did not get a clear run when he was about getting into a rhythm.

Donald Netto trained Punjabi Girl proved to be more forward than the rest in the 1000 metres as she skipped clear in the final furlong with a tremendous burst of speed to win the1000 metres Beginners Plate, a race for maiden two-year-olds. Man Apart held off Inci to get the runner-up berth. Favourite Barnabas was not up to delivering the goods.

The day`s opener saw Leo D`Silva trained Marina Del Rey came up with a late burst of speed to just about pip the front-running Southern Promise to win the Sri Shamlal Gupta Memorial Plate, a race for horses rated 42 to 62. Southern Promise looked set to win the race when Marina Del Rey unleashed a strong run on the wide outside. But those watching the race believed that Marina Del Rey may miss the bus but the bobbing of the heads saw the filly win by a whisker. Favourite Highly Acclaimed was a disappointing third.


Marina Del Rey (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Sri Shamlal Gupta Memorial Plate

Punjabi Girl (Deepak Singh up) winner of the Beginners Plate

Newport (Prashant P Dhebe up) winner of the Adolfito Plate (Div-I)

Air Strike (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the M B Mangalorkar Memorial Plate

Magical Skill (Nakhat Singh up) winner of the Grand Entry Plate

Ice Crystal (C P Bopanna up) winner of the Moment Of Glory Plate (Div-II)

Chase Your Dreams (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Kasu Brahmananda Reddy Memorial Plate

Carnival Express (Md Ismail up) winner of the Deccan Star Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on February 21, 2019 - Mumbai & Chennai Races

Live Results - Mysore (February 20, 2019)

Live Results - Chennai (February 20, 2019)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture