Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

David Allan ensures victory of favourite

By: Tippu Sultan   January 8 , 2018

David Allan`s power-packed riding saw favourite Realmoffantasy neck out Catalonia in the closing strides of the race of the Gr 3 Byerly Turk Million, a terms race for three-year-old fillies, the feature event of Monday`s Hyderabad races. Catalonia appeared to have stolen the race when she had a good lead going into the final furlong but Realmoffantasy powered her way to victory in a thrilling finish.

Realmoffantasy went to the post as an on-money favourite more because David Allan was astride. Catalonia hadn`t done anything wrong having made a smashing winning debut. Catalonia was offered at odds of 7/1 though close to race time, there was solid support for the Vittal Deshmukh trainee and the odds came tumbling down. Realmoffantasy however was at a steady quote. After Dunkirk brought the field into view, Suraj Narredu on Catalonia slipped the lesser fancied runner along the rails and the progeny of Air Strike quickened swiftly to go storming ahead. In the meanwhile, David Allan was busy on Realmoffantasy who took her own time to warm up. It looked as though the lead established by Catalonia would help her through but Realmoffantasy came home with a big run and managed to put her neck in front. Dunkirk stayed on to take the third place.

David Allan had a fruitful day, booting home a treble, all of them being the progeny of Excellent Art. Two of the winners, Realmoffantasy and Proclamation were trained by Laxman Singh while the other one belonged to Vittal Deshmukh. Proclamation was the betting rage in the 1200 metres Haridwar Plate (Div I), a race for maiden three-year-olds. After Jazz It Up set the pace and led into the final furlong, Proclamation warmed up to the task and easily collared the front-runners for a comfortable win. Alta Vita came up with a powerful late rally to take the second place ahead of the long-time leader. Excellent Hope tackled Nimble Mind in the final furlong and shot ahead to win the lower division of the race. There was artificial excitement when Tokyo Jam made a big surge along the rails, but the favourite was not in danger of being caught up. Tokyo Jam managed to edge past Nimble Mind to get the runner-up berth.

Lesser fancied runner from Laxman Singh`s stable, Naazaan pulled off a surprise win in the 1600 metres Sri A S Krishna Memorial Cup, a race for horses rated 74 and above. Baahubali attempted runaway tactics by taking early lead by several lengths but was caught up with in the final furlong as his energy was sapped by the front-running effort. Naazaan who was handily placed surged and had no problem in winning the race as the other challengers had too much leeway make up which they proved incapable. Like Wise who was lethargic from the start, gained ground in the straight to save place money while last start winner Aika Aika Aika was not up to giving so much of weight to her opponents and was a tame fourth.

Suraj Narredu had no problem in steering favourite Air Strike to a comprehensive win in the 2000 metres C Satyanarayana Memorial Plate, a race for horses rated 42 to 62. Euro Zone who also enjoyed a good measure of support in the ring went on an aggressive front-running mission. He went too quick in the early part for his own good. Suraj elected to push Rutilant on the inside of Euro Zone in the gap that was available along the rails after straightening for home. Once Air Strike took the gap, there was no stopping the favourite from winning by a good margin. Treasure Striker rallied late and narrowly failed to snatch the runner-up berth from the long-time leader.

Hilton Sequeira trained Yes Can I Can had no problem in storming clear in the final furlong and win the 1600 metres Galactica Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated 42 to 62 at nourishing odds. Favourite San Vinto and the equally well fancied Symbol of Star`s gave no hope and struggled when the pace of the race picked up and finished poorly. Escobar was a suggestive second. The lower division of the race was won by favourite Rutilant who won as he pleased over Platinum Classz and Sunday Carnival without having to be ridden out vigorously.

Satyanarayana trained Old Faithful broke into a good lead with a furlong left in the race and easily held off the challenge of Boca Grande to win the 1400 metres Wishful Thinking Plate, a race for horses rated up to 30. Favourite Mean Machine was not up to justifying the support and finished poorly.


Rutilant (Suraj Narredu up) winner of the Galactica Plate (Div-II)

Excellent Hope (David Allan up) winner of the Haridwar Plate (Div-II)

Proclamation (David Allan up) winner of the Haridwar Plate (Div-I)

Air Strike (Suraj Narredu up) winner of the C Satyanarayana Memorial Plate

You Can I Can (Aneel up) winner of the Galactica Plate (Div-I)

Naazaan (Kuldeep Singh up) winner of the Sri A.S. Krishna Memorial Cup

Realmsoffantasy (David Allan up) winner of the Byerly Turk Million (Gr.3)

Old Faithful (G Naresh up) winner of the Wishful Thinking Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on February 21, 2019 - Mumbai & Chennai Races

Live Results - Mysore (February 20, 2019)

Live Results - Chennai (February 20, 2019)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture