Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Pricelessgirl prevails by the proverbial whisker

By: Frankel   April 15 , 2018

Rajendra trained Pricelessgirl recorded the third win of the season, yet again triumphing at long odds in the 1000 metres Daddy Adenwalla Cup, a race for horses rated 40 to 66, the feature event of Sunday`s Mumbai races. Pricelessgirl who hit the front from the word `go` just about survived the late onslaught of Miss Moneypenny to win by the shortest of margin. Jockey Sandesh was in his elements, booting home a treble for the second successive day.

Apprentice jockey S A Amit took Pricelessgirl on a start to finish mission as the six-year-old mare enjoys an uncontested run in front. Juggernaut, the favourite, gave a hot chase in the homestretch but made no impression as he was unable to change gears as it were. Miss Moneypenny was held up along the rails and by jockey Zervan could break free on the fancied runner, Pricelessgirl had a good lead which made a critical difference to the outcome of the race. Though Miss Moneypenny finished with a rush, the long shot held off by one-hundredth of a second. Juggernaut stayed on to finish third.

Vishal Gaikwad trained Checkmate who had won twice during the season before losing on the third occasion was yet again backed strongly to make amends in the 1400 metres Neola Plate, a race for horses rated 40 to 66. The well-bred son of Canford Cliffs had found the six-furlong trip sharp his undoing on the last occasion as he takes time to warm up to the task. The trip of seven furlongs was expected to suit him fine and he was expected to have a big chance. Star of Thea was also well patronised in the betting ring. Star of Thea shot ahead in the final furlong and shaped to win as Checkmate had considerable leeway to cover as he had to make his bid from way off the pace. However, Checkmate produced a powerful dash after warming up to the task and managed to overhaul the front-runner in the shadow of the post. Sandesh was persevering on the horse which made a good winning rally in the end. Harmony of the Sea ran on to finish third.

Another good ride by Sandesh saw Counsellor pull it off in the 1600 metres Hachiko Plate, a race for horses rated 20 to 46. The race saw an interesting finish with Happy Birthday overhauling favourite We Break The Rules inside the final furlong and sail ahead. However, We Break The Rules, however, fought back to regain the lead after being switched out. Counsellor joined issue with a late rally on the wide outside and the latter`s strong effort saw the progeny of Mull of Kintyre clinch the issue in the closing strides of the race. Honourable Eyes ran on to take the third position ahead of Eiger`s Tiger who came from way off the pace to figure on the frame. Happy Birthday fell back after raising hopes to eventually finish fifth.

Sandesh also guided Rehanullah Khan trained Gnostic Eyes to an easy win in the 1400 metres Windmill Power Plate (Div II), a race for horses in the lowest category. The well-bred Gnostic Eyes who moved to Rehanullah Khan`s stables after spending his formative years in some other stable showed up in the paddock parade and looked impressive enough to merit strong backing. Sandesh brought Gnostic Eyes with his patented style of coming from behind and the progeny of Multidimensional easily overtook Forever Free who held fort a long time. Gnostic Eyes measured the front-runner quite easily and stormed ahead to win by a shade more than two lengths. Alegria showed some intent when finishing third ahead of Bay of Love who was the pace-setter for the race. The upper division of the race was won by Nirad Karanjawalla trained Sia who took charge of the proceedings inside the final furlong and skipped clear to win from late-finishing Saffron Flower and Cecelia. Favourite Vitesse gave up too easily after being prominent till the race came to the boil.

Trainer Mansoor Shah has been having a great season as his horses are positioned well below their capability. Queen Ria was backed spiritedly to win the 1000 metres Imphal Plate, a race for horses rated 20 to 46. Apprentice jockey Zeeshan had no hesitation in taking the well-backed runner to the front from the outside draw and the strongly backed runner had no problem in checking in comfortably ahead of Bridgestone Hill and Speed of Sound. Favourite El Tycoon was a poor fourth.

Adhiraj Singh trained Lucky Luciano was taking on a modest lot of horses in the 2000 metres Rapier Plate, a race for horses in the lowest category. Despite being sluggish at the start, the progeny of Rebuttal was so superior to the opposition that the four-year-old gelding left the field stranded in the final furlong to win by a margin of over five lengths. Whoopsidaisy who led from the start till overhauled by the eventual winner managed to keep the second position ahead of Silver Moon.


Lucky Luciano (C S Jodha up) winner of the Rapier Plate

Checkmate (A Sandesh up) winner of the Neola Plate

Gnostic Eyes (A Sandesh up) winner of the Windmill Power Plate (Div-II)

Sia (Prasad up) winner of the Windmill Power Plate (Div-I)

Pricelessgirl (S A Amit up) winner of the Dady Adenwalla Cup

Queen Ria (H Zeeshan up) winner of the Imphal Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on March 19, 2019 - Delhi Races

Live Results - Delhi (March 18, 2019)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture