Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Cyclone records emphatic win in Srinivas Trophy

  October 30 , 2019

Rakesh trained Cyclone who has struck good form this season, recorded his second win from three outings when comprehensively beating the opposition in the 1200 metres M K Srinivas Memorial Trophy, a race for horses rated 60 and above, the feature event of the concluding day`s races of the Mysore Regular Season on Wednesday. Favourite Castaway who failed to run to potential reportedly returned lame.

Castaway and Haedi`s Filly were the joint-favourites for the race. The latter was withdrawn at the gates as he threw up tantrums at the gates and refused to be stalled. Castaway who was led to the gates also was restless and was under pressure right from the word go. Cyclone who raced in a handy third position slipped into the lead along the rail overtaking the front-running Star of Thea in the homestretch and won the race by a widening margin of four lengths. Super Success ran on to finish third.

Arjun Mangalorkar trained Spanish Beauty finally came good after a break of 333 days by overwhelming the opposition in the 1200 metres K Thammanna Gowda Memorial Trophy, a race for horses rated 40 to 65. Animal Queen was strongly backed to win based on the impressive win recoded by the three-year-old filly on the last occasion. Spanish Beauty who had not shown any spark after a runaway way last year was available at long odds. Inside the final furlong, Animal Kingdom showed out briefly before Spanish Beauty produced a terrific burst of speed on the wide outside and went storming clear for an easy win. Coorg Regiment rallied well along the rails to take the second spot ahead of the favourite.

Sharavanan trained All In who had been held back for long is being exploited in the current season to profit. The progeny of Lucifer Sam recorded the third straight win when easily accounting for the opposition in the 1600 metres Alekona Trophy, a race for horses rated 40 to 65. All In came up with a powerful run in the stretch and overhauled the long-time leader Order Order who surrendered tamely in the final furlong when confronted with the challenge. All In spurted clear to win by a widening margin of four lengths over Brabourne and late-rallying Siddhani.

It was a day for horses which had not seen the winning post for long to strike. Lightning Bolt was another who had found it hard to strike winning form having not won for 1007 days. Lightning Attack who had come down in scales brought off a consolation win by getting control of the race in the final furlong and storming clear to win from favourite Nostradamus despite veering out of a straight course in the 1200 metres Mulki Plate (Div I), a race for horses in the lowest category. Star Lagoon ran on late to take the third place ahead of Star Style. Trainer R V Manohar`s last win perhaps coincided with the number of days that Desert Guilt did not win a race. Desert Guilt who had not won for 1054 days had it easy in the lower division of the Mulki Plate with a strong run down the final furlong getting the better of Vroom Vroom to record an easy win. Extremelydangerous who raced with the pace stayed on to take the second position ahead of Cherie Amour and the long-time leader Vroom Vroom. Premier Premises who also enjoyed favouritism along with the winner was in touch with the front-runner till the final bend before disappearing from the scene.

Narayan Gowda trained Maybe Forever came up with a sustained effort in the final furlong to get the better of Star Grad to win the 1200 metres Nugu Dam Plate, a race for horses rated 20 to 45. The odds rift on Habanero indicated that the last start winner may not be a serious contender in the ray. The race looked like a minefield and in keeping with the expectations, lesser fancied Maybe Forever pulled off at the expense of Star Grad who was in receipt of smart money. Be Bold ran on to finish third. Lesser fancied Prince Azeem also found the winning mark in the lower division of the Nugu Dam Plate after a long wait of 613 days. Prince Azeem came into contention in the final furlong and won with a measure of comfort from Green Meadow and Industrialist. Hafnium had the form to be in the thick of things but jockey Prashanth Dhebe willed it otherwise by keeping the favourite too far behind which ensured that good money of punters went down the drain.

S M Johnson trained Veni Vidi Vici who came in for spirited betting won the season`s concluding race, the 1200 metres Kasaragod Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated 20 to 45. Last start winner Country`s Power shaped to win when he had a useless lead going into the final furlong but close home, was overhauled by a strongly ridden Veni Vidi Vici who produced a powerful burst in the hands of jockey T S Jodha to nail the front-runner on the post. Dancing Blues was third. The lower division of the raced also went the way of another Johnson trainee Classic Jewel who had let down huge expectations last time out was once again backed to the exclusion of the rest to win the lower division of the Kasaragod Plate. Classic Jewel did not disappoint as the six-year-old mare who hadn`t won for 384 days cruised into the lead in the final furlong and went away for an easy win over Naval Wrestler and Carnival Express. The odds drifted out on Swiss Admiral indicating that he would not be seen in serious business and the seven-year-old too understood the mood and stayed rooted at the gates.


Desert Gilt (R Vaibhav up) winner of the Mulki Plate (Div-II)

Princeazeem (T S Jodha up) winner of the Nugu Dam Plate (Div-II)

Lightning Attack (Chethan Gowda up) winner of the Mulki Plate (Div-I)

Classic Jewel (Amyn Merchant up) winner of the Kasargod Plate (Div-II)

All In (Rajesh Kumar M up) winner of the Alekona Trophy

Spanish Beauty (Imran Chisty up) winner of the K.Thammanna Gowda Memorial Trophy

Cyclone (C Umesh up) winner of the M.K.Srinivas Memorial Trophy

Maybe Forever (Rajesh Kumar M up) winner of the Nugu Dam Plate (Div-I)

Veni Vidi Vici (T S Jodha up) winner of the Kasargod Plate (Div-I)

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm

Live Results - Mumbai Races (March 12, 2020)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture