Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Desert God romps home in Chief Minister’s Trophy

  January 3 , 2020

Padmanabhan trained Deseret God romped home in the 2000 metres Chief Minister`s Trophy, a terms race for four-year-olds and over, the feature event of Friday`s Bangalore races in taking style. The eight-year-old champion who has not lost his zest for racing recorded the 19th win of his prolific career, in a smart timing of two minutes 03.834 seconds.

Desert God who is the highest stakes money earner in the history of Indian racing has been an outstanding performer. Despite carrying the back-breaking weight of 62 kgs, Desert God made light of the handicap as also the opposition winning start to finish from Salazaar and Secretive Force. David Allan had no hesitation in taking Desert God on a start to finish mission and the progeny of Burden of Proof dictated a brisk pace followed by Secretive Force, Salazaar and the rest. Desert God came into the straight a couple of lengths clear of the rest and kept going with the jockey not required to exert himself to keep the champion going who spared three lengths at the finish. Salazaar got the better of Secretive Force to claim the runner-up berth.

Sulaiman Attaollahi trained Angelino was widely believed to be capable of recording an encore and accordingly was backed down as a strong favourite in the 1400 metre Lal Bagh Plate, a race for horses rated 60 and above. David Allan had the speedy customer in front but inside the final furlong, the favourite looked vulnerable as Treasure Delight and Ashwa Raftar closed in with a rush. Treasure Delight stormed ahead inside the final 100 metres and won by a comfortable margin of two lengths. Ashwa Raftar grabbed the second position ahead of the progeny of Win Legend, Angelino who gave up without a fight. There was inspired betting on Peluche to bounce back to winning ways after a longish gap of 188 days, but the second favourite ran listlessly and was never in with a serious chance at any stage of the race.

Prasanna Kumar trained Aferpi who had gone down fighting to Star And Garter made amends with a gusty performance in the1600 metres Amber Regent Plate, a race for horses rated 15 to 35. Backed to the exclusion of the rest, Aferpi who was settled in the mid-group by jockey Y S Srinath devoured ground in the stretch and managed to overhaul the front-running Cosmic Feeling close home to land the spoils. High Priestess warmed up to the task rather late and came home with a big effort but had to be satisfied with the third position, not far from the winner. High Priestess should be hard to toss next time out.

In a race which had many first season apprentices, it was difficult to nominate the winner with any conviction. Sharat Kumar trained South Bell had the credentials but then it is always tricky to back this stable as often one is not sure whether the horse would race with serious intent. South Bell was in the betting and when Shreyas Singh who was riding his first race of the career had the progeny of West Virginia in front, it was clear that the five-year-old would be a handful and would land the second win from 22 outings. South Bell met with no opposition en route to a comfortable win in the 1400 metres Moodabidri Plate, a race for horses in the lowest category. Apprentice jockey Ankit Yadav failed to get a forward position on Purity from the innermost draw and trailed the field but covered plenty of ground in the stretch to eventually occupy the second position. Prime Star ran on to take the third position.

Narayan Gowda trained Big Boon won against the run of expectations in the 1200 metres G Krishnappa Memorial Trophy (Div I), a race for horses rated 30 to 50. Prasanna Kumar trained Indian Empress who had won impressively last time out was entrusted to four-kg claimer Arul was the firm favourite. Incidentally, the three-year-old had beaten Big Boon by more than 10 lengths when the two clashed last time out. Indian Empress shot into the lead in earnest on turning for home as pace-setter Slice of Heaven disappeared without a trace but the favourite could not sustain the lead in the final furlong as Big Boon easily overhauled the favourite to surge ahead. Stari Grad ran on to take the second position ahead of Indian Democrat who failed to get a forward position early in the race and galloped in snatches to occupy the third position. Indian Empress weakened completely to finish a tame fourth. The punters who had been at the receiving end with just two short-priced horses winning were hoping to recoup some of the losses through last start impressive winner Perfect Rendition in the concluding race of the day, the lower division of the Krishnappa Memorial Trophy but it failed to come off as the friendless Darahasini from the stables of Pradeep Annaiah brought off a big upset in the hands of jockey Surya. Darahasini beat Perfect Rendition in the closing stride of the race. Donna Bella took the third position ahead of the well-backed Schafenberg who could not overcome a lethargic start.

The benefit of a race run enabled Neil Darashah trained Mountain Lion to pull it off in the 1400 metres January Plate, a race for maiden three-year-olds. From a handy second position at the final bend, Mountain Lion took over the running at the top of the straight and opened a winnable lead by the final furlong. Handsome who was in the chase made no impression with the most impressive runner of the race being first-timer Pissarro who finished with a big effort only to fail by a narrow margin. Handsome stayed on to take the third position. Cavallini who had a run benefit did not show much improvement.


South Bell (Shreyas Singh up) winner of the Moodabidri Plate

Aferpi (Y S Srinath up) winner of the Amber Regent Plate

Treasure Delight (Suraj Narredu up) winner of the Lal Bagh Plate

Big Boon (R Anand up) winner of the G. Krishnappa Memorial Trophy (Div-I)

Desert God (David Allan up) winner of the Chief Minister`S Trophy

Mountain Lion (Trevor Patel up) winner of the January Plate

Darahasini (Surya P up) winner of the G. Krishnappa Memorial Trophy (Div-II)

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm

Live Results - Mumbai Races (March 12, 2020)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture