Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Yanna Rascala clinches Edgar Desylva Trophy

By: Frankel   December 28 , 2017

Pesi Shroff trained Yanna Rascala justified the spirited betting that came on his success close to race time with a decisive surge in the final furlong to measure long-time leader Star Councillor to lift the 1400 metres Edgar Desylva Trophy, a race for horses rated 60 to 86, the feature event of Thursday`s evening races held at Mumbai. Shroff had a field day saddling three winners.

Yanna Rascala had won twice at Pune before losing to Gazino over a sprint which was sharp for his style of running. Now back to the more adaptable distance of seven furlongs, Yanna Rascala was backed with conviction by those who believed in the virtues of this horse. Bateleur who had run in the Guineas was the on-money favourite though close to race time the odds expanded to even money. Star Councillor led the way with Carbonara in close attendance followed by Bateleur, Yanna Rascala and Charging Tigress. Trevor made his move after entering the homestretch and the four-year-old gelding steadily bridged the gap and was striding clear at the finish. Star Councillor stayed put in second position while Bateleur did not put any resistance while finishing a poor third.

Shroff`s Lord of the Sea had finished about 35 lengths behind Lady In Lace in the Pune Derby. Now running in a handicap race against ordinary horses, his chances were bound to be better. Gloriosus and Moonshine came in for good support resulting in Lord of the Sea running at nourishing odds. Flying Dragon led from the start and though he veered out under pressure, he looked capable of pulling it off but the strong finish of Neeraj Rawal as against that of apprentice Raghuveer Singh on the front-runner saw the Pesi ward clinching the race by a whisker. Gloriosus who was hemmed up for a clear run rallied along the rails but fell short in the end. Moonshine who was bidding for a hat-trick flattened out when the race came to the boil.

First-timers Hope And Glory and Octavius were equally well supported to win the 1200 metres White Metal Plate, a race for maiden two-year-olds. Hope And Glory was taken on a start to finish mission by Trevor but was beaten close home. Octavius who travelled wide into the straight was inclined to run out and despite his wayward ways, he managed to get the better of Hope And Glory. Bluebell had a useful outing when finishing third.

Shroff trained Carnival obliged expectations in the 1600 meters Vallabhdas H Adwalia Trophy, a race for horses rated 20 to 46 in a three-horse finish. Carnival had the first run on her opponents and had a useful lead going into the final furlong. Reds Revenge and Sumaaq came up with menacing efforts in the final moments of the race but the front-runner held on to the lead. Reds Revenge who was drawn wide was handicapped by the draw as his jockey Dashrath Singh could get cover by rolling over to the inside. Reds Revenge travelled wide which also hurt his chances. Sumaaq was finishing the fastest and the five-year-old mare managed to nose out Reds Revenge for the runner-up berth.

Trevor who has been finding winners hard to come by, drove out Ame to a narrow win over fast-finishing Sudarshan Chakra in the 1200 metres Spinoza Plate, a race for horses in the lowest class. It was a welcome win for veteran trainer M K Jadhav who has hit a bad patch. Ame was also lucky to win in that Sudarshan Chakra was not brisk at the start and was at the back of the field till turning for home. Sudarshan Chakra covered the leeway and came up with a big effort but Ame just about held on to win. Lilac Time who was given a rather soft ride by Dashrath Singh was a notable third and this filly should strike before long if there is intent next time out.

Noshir Cama trained An Jolie hadn`t won for 638 days but considering the modest the opposition and her noteworthy effort in her last run, she was fancied to win the 1200 metres Sprungli Plate, a race for horses rated 40 to 66. Hedwig was another who was in serious consideration along with Turf Dancer. The speedy Locarno led the way and refused to budge from that position despite immense pressure put by An Jolie. Just as the latter was beginning to gain the upper hand, the battling duo in front was floored by Turf Dancer who came up with giant strides and stormed clear.

Jadhav trained Goshawk had let down as a strong favourite last time out and was widely expected to make amends in the 1200 metres Onassis Plate, a race for maiden three-year-olds. Once again Goshawk let down with a timid effort. Chaplin had the first run on his opponents with two furlongs left in the race and despite Goshawk being goaded to quicken, the front-runner did not yield ground. In the meanwhile, Faisal Abbas trained Nembe Greek put up a scintillating effort on the wide outside to storm clear of the battling duo to bring off an upset win.


Lord Of The Sea (Neeraj Rawal up) winner of the Lady Moura Plate

Octavius (A Imran Khan up) winner of the White Metal Plate

Carnival (S Zervan up) winner of the Vallabhdas H Adwalia Trophy

Yanna Rascala (Trevor Patel up) winner of the Edgar Desylva Trophy

Ame (Trevor Patel up) winner of the Spinoza Plate

Hidden Soul (Raghuveer Singh up) winner of the Sprungli Plate

Nembe Greek (C S Jodha up) winner of the Onassis Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on March 19, 2019 - Delhi Races

Live Results - Delhi (March 18, 2019)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture