Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Smashing Blue completes a hat-trick

By: Tippu Sultan   January 5 , 2020

Hilton Sequeira trained Smashing Blue who has proved to be a top class juvenile recorded the third straight win of her career staving off the strong bid of Akashima to win the Gr 3 Byerly Turk Million, a terms race for three-year-olds, the feature event of Sunday`s Hyderabad races. The progeny of Win Legend was conceding chunks of weight to her adversaries by virtue of her two wins but overcame the adversity with her fighting qualities.

Smashing Blue was made a strong favourite despite giving seven kgs to her opponents. Smashing Blue had the racing experience and took charge of the proceedings from the word go. Smashing Blue had a useful lead all the way in the straight which helped her to pull it off when Akashima came home with a big effort. Akashima lacked the early speed and was settled in the penultimate position. Jockey Mukesh Kumar brought Akashima wide into the straight and drove out aggressively but despite a valiant effort, the long-shot could only come tantalizingly close to toppling the favourite. Southern Princess was a well beaten third.

Mukesh Kumar was successful astride long shot Staridar who won the 1600 metres Sri A S Krishna Memorial Cup, a race for horses rated 40 to 65. Pentagon led the field from the start with favourite Balius in the second position followed by stablemate Staridar and the rest. Balius shot ahead on turning for home but could not keep the lead for long as Staridar pounced on the favourite and stormed ahead and had no problem in staying clear of the rest. Dandy Man came up with a late flourish to finish second ahead of On My Way who too ran on purposefully.

Srinivas Reddy trained Apollo provided Mukesh Kumar with the second success of the day in the 1400 metres Sunny blossom Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated 20 to 45. The jockey did well to manoeuvre a handy second position behind Spiritual from the wide outside draw. Mukesh waited till turning for home on the favourite before getting busy. The favourite bounced clear of the front-runner and went away for a win by a comfortable margin of over four lengths to record an encore. Ice Warrior held off Maxwell to save place money. Laxman Singh trained Kate proved too good for the field in the lower division of the race. Though Kate lacked the early speed and graced the penultimate position, she devoured ground in the stretch to sail past the front-running Explosive to win by a widening margin of eight lengths. Red Snapper necked out Sputnic to save place money.

Satheesh trained Happy Together brought off a big upset in the 1100 metres Telangana And Andhra Sub Area Trophy, a race for horses rated 40 to 65 at the expense of strong favourite Yours Forever. Apprentice jockey Jitendra Singh took the speedy Happy Together to the front from the word go and the long shot enjoyed a good cushion going into the final furlong. Though the favourite Yours Forever finished with a rush in the hands of jockey Trevor Patel, Happy Together just about managed to stay in front, sparing a neck at the finish. Rahil edged out Giethorn for the third position.

Committed Warrior was the short-priced favourite to make a winning debut in the 1200 metres Umraolal Gupta Memorial Cup, a race for maiden three-year-olds. Under a strong ride by jockey Akshay Kumar, Committed Warrior responded well and managed to nail the front-running Belle Springs close home. Chuckit was third.


Committed Warrior (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Umraolal Gupta Memorial Cup

Kate (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Sunny Blossom Plate (Div-II)

Staridar (K Mukesh Kumar up) winner of the Sri A. S. Krishna Memorial Cup

Smashing Blue (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Byerly Turk Million (Gr.3)

Happy Together (Jitendra Singh up) winner of the Telangana And Andhra Sub Area Trophy

Apollo (K Mukesh Kumar up) winner of the Sunny Blossom Plate (Div-I)

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm

Live Results - Mumbai Races (March 12, 2020)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture